Over a week ago I was invited to a costume part by a friend I had recently met.  Figured it would just be a good party with drinks and can meet some more new people. Boy was I right about meeting new people.  I ended up getting to the party late, so I didn’t end up needing to wear a costume.  I introduced myself to the hosts and various other people at the party.   That day I decided to wear one of my wolf shirts. Why? It was one of the few clean shirts I had left.  One of the guys I met (I’ll call him T) commented about my shirt, going on about respecting the wolf.  Now isn’t that ironic?  I assured him that there was no disrespect.  From there we continued to chat.  His friend (I’ll call him Gomez) then came into the conversation and brought out  a feather from when he went out hunting, and a few other power objects he had received as gifts.  Eventually we ended up at the fire pit in the backyard. Four of us walked to the back chatting about spiritual stuff.  The fourth guy chatted like he understood. Many of the women around us kept looking at us strangely, even saying “don’t listen to them, they’re crazy”.  T just smiled and said not to mind them.  “they will call us crazy, but just keep doing what you do. Those that need to be here will be”  Shortly afterwards the fourth guy went back in the house or left. I really don’t remember where he went.  We smudged ourselves while we were at the fire pit, leaving just T, Gomez, and myself.  T took the opportunity to say he was right about being the only people left were those who needed to be.  The knowledge they had was from the native people.  They had been taught by their elders and other native tribes.  I was moved how both of them had their own tribes but were united by their wanting to learn about the old ways.  To them, it was about giving back to the earth and living with the earth.  It was an older medicine and I definitely felt and saw the power of what they spoke.  They were going to show me a warrior dance, but it unfortunately became too late and motor skills deteriorated as we drank. The night has given me a lot to think about and look into.  Things seem to happen as they need to.  This should hopefully keep my impatient mouth from complaining too much.  It’s nice to know I’m doing something right it seems.

